Back to All Events

Opening Reception for salem2salem Residents

S2S_OPENING_RECEPTION_AUGUST23_2019_WEBSLIDE.jpg

In 2010 Salem Art Works partnered with the Lake Constance Cultural Department in Salem, Germany to create an international artist residency exchange program. Every year since, the organizations have taken turns hosting groups of interdisciplinary artists, alternating every other year between Salem, New York USA and Salem, Germany.

It’s our pleasure to host once again, so please join us at North Main Gallery in Salem, New York on August 23rd to celebrate these visiting artists with us!


Schedule August 1–25 2019

Thur Aug 1, Arrival, 12–8 PM
Fri Aug 2, Orientation & Tour, 10–12 PM
Mix & Mingle with Shop Directors, 4–5 PM
Young and Studio Artist Exhibition (N. Main Gallery), 5-7 PM
Tues Aug 6, Scrap Metal Field Trip (Rutland VT), 8 AM-2 PM
Wed Aug 7, MASS MoCA Field Trip (North Adams MA), 9 AM–5 PM
Thur Aug 8, Participatory performance “Harder Barter Market/Härterer Tauschmarkt”, 5-6 PM Presented by Lifetime Guarantee a collaboration of Jenny Hillenbrand and Kristen Tordella-Williams
Live Music by David Cuite, 6 PM
Fri Aug 9, Intro to Glass, from 3–5 PM
Tue Aug 13, Aluminum Pour, TBA
B-Sides @ Salem Tavern, 7:30–11 PM
Thur Aug 15, Small Ceramic Wood-Kiln loading & 48-Hour Firing
Studio Visits with Sarah Tanguy, Art in Embassies US Department of State
Lecture by Sarah Tanguy and Mary Early Washington DC Sculptor, 5 PM
Sat Aug 17, Music on the Hill, Live Music Motorbike, 4–8 PM
Tue Aug 20, B-Sides @ Salem Tavern, 7:30–11 PM
Wed Aug 21, Small Ceramic Wood-Kiln Unloading, TBA
Thur Aug 22, Exhibition prep, Install, and rehearsals, TBA
Fri Aug 23, Closing Exhibition
Sat 24-Sun 25, Exhibition deinstall, packing, and departure


Earlier Event: August 17
Music on the Hill - Featuring Motorbike
Later Event: September 7
Artists in Residence Open Studios